Commonwealth Scholarships offered by Higher Education Commission of Pakistan

The Higher Education Commission of Pakistan is offering 10 Commonwealth Scholarships starting in 2019 for applicants from:

  • Bangladesh
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Tanzania
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia


The scholarships are open to the citizens of those countries listed above. Please note that no dual nationals are eligible to apply.

Applicants must ensure they meet the eligibility requirements of the universities for which they are applying. In addition, as the mode of teaching is English, applicants should have passed IELTs or TOEFL or provide an English Proficiency Certificate.

Applicants must be between 20 years to 35 years for MS / M.Phil. on or before the application deadline.

The scholarships

These scholarships are available only for specific universities, please see the HEC website for more informatoin.

The scholarships provide tuition fees, a return flight up to a maximum cost of PKR 150,000, accommodation costs, a book allowance and an additional living allowance.

Who to contact

Further details on the awards available including further eligibility requirements and the eligible institutions are available on the HEC website.

If you are interested in applying, please contact Syed Kashif Jehan ([email protected]) for further details.