Our team

ACU Staff

Senior Executive Team

Dr Joanna Newman Photo Approved Compressed

Dr Joanna Newman MBE FRSA is Chief Executive and Secretary General of the ACU. She joined the ACU in April 2017 and is responsible for fostering and promoting the aims of the ACU, as defined by its membership, in developing inter-Commonwealth relations in the field of higher education.

Before joining the ACU, Joanna was the Vice-Principal (International) at King’s College London where she was responsible for all international matters for the university. In previous positions, Joanna represented the UK higher education sector as Director of the UK Higher Education International Unit (now known as Universities UK International) where she negotiated the UK’s role in Brazil’s Science without Borders mobility scheme, launched HE Global and initiated a number of international partnerships on behalf of the UK higher education sector. Before this, she was Head of Higher Education at the British Library where she commissioned the Google Generation report and was responsible for introducing researchers to one of the world’s greatest research libraries.

Joanna is a Senior Research Fellow in the History Faculty at King’s and an Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Southampton and has taught history at University College London and the University of Warwick. In 2014, she was honoured as a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in recognition of her work promoting British higher education internationally.

Joanna is on the board of the School of Advanced Studies, University of London International Academy, University of London; The Conversation UK and the VITAE external advisory board. She has been a judge on the Times Higher Education Awards. She regularly speaks at conferences, roundtables and on international platforms representing the UK on issues relating to higher education and internationalisation.

Follow Joanna on Twitter
Caroline Harrison Cropped

Caroline Harrison is Chief Finance Officer at the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

Sharon Memis is Chief Operating Officer

Senior Management Team

Khairul Bashar is Director of Finance for the Association of Commonwealth Universities, Marshall Scholarships and Chevening.

Deborah Bennett is Head of Programme Management at Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC).

Mary Denyer is Assistant Secretary at the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission.

Consola Evans is Head of Membership at the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

Dr Jonathan Jenkins is Director of Scholarships at Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC).

Jackie Middleton is Governance Manager at the Association of Commonwealth Universities. 

Natasha Lokhun is Head of Marketing and Communications at the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

Tarrance Ryder-Downes is Director of HR at the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

Dr Faye Taylor is Head of Strategic Partnerships at the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

Miranda Thomas is Director of Chevening Secretariat.

Alex Wright is Head of Public Affairs at the Association of Commonwealth Universities. 

Contact us at communications@acu.ac.uk