ACU Council Website V1


The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) is a UK-registered charity incorporated by Royal Charter.

The ACU Council is our governing body and is responsible for overseeing the organisation’s activities and determining its future strategic direction. Council members also act as our Trustees.

The Council is made up of a maximum of 23 members, who are vice-chancellors of ACU member universities from across the Commonwealth, elected by their peers within the ACU membership network.

Our current Council members are:

Chair: Professor Cheryl de la Rey** - University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Vice-Chair: Professor Colin Riordan** - Cardiff University, UK

Honorary Treasurer: Professor Feridun Hamdullahpur*** - formerly the University of Waterloo, Canada


* Member in 1st Term of Office

**Member in 2nd Term of Office

*** Co-opted


Executive Committee

  • Chair: Professor Cheryl de la Rey, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Professor Feridun Hamdullahpur***, formerly the University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Professor Colin Riordan – Cardiff University, UK
  • Professor Wim de Villiers – Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Professor Barnabas Nawangwe* – Makerere University, Uganda
  • Professor Pal Ahluwalia* – University of the South Pacific, Fiji
  • Dr Sandeep Sancheti* - Marwadi University, India
  • Dr Rhonda L Lenton* – York University, Canada


Audit and Risk Committee

    • Chair: Professor Amanda Broderick – University of East London, UK
    • Graeme Appleby – The British Academy, UK
    • Professor Tawana Kupe* – University of Pretoria, South Africa

Find out more about the role and functions of our Council and what being a Council member entails