Commonwealth Scholarships in low and middle income countries

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is a unique programme. Since its establishment in 1959, it has provided opportunities for over 30,000 citizens of all Commonwealth countries to study in other member countries.

Following the establishment of the CSFP endowment fund in 2009, a new strand of Commonwealth Scholarships located in low and middle income countries is available. These scholarships enable Commonwealth citizens to study for postgraduate qualifications in countries such as Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Mauritius.

2016-2017 Commonwealth Scholarships

Applications for scholarships in Papua New Guinea, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the South Pacific closed on Thursday 30 June 2016.

Those who applied for this round of scholarships will be notified of whether they have been successful or not within three months of the closing date.

How to apply

Applications are currently closed.

Important information

  • The scholarships are for postgraduate courses only and are not applicable to distance learning courses.
  • The scholarships are for new students only and cannot be used to fund a course you have already started.
  • No additional funding will be provided for scholars with families.

Case studies

Click on the image below to read about the experiences of Commonwealth Scholars in low and middle income countries.

Andrew Harvey Commonwealth Scholar CSFP