ACU Titular Fellowships 2017

ACU Titular Fellowships 2017

Published on 31 October 2017

The ACU is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's round of ACU Titular Fellowships. Awarded to university staff and academics from across our diverse membership, these fellowships provide opportunities for individuals to visit prestigious institutions across the Commonwealth to undertake research, develop skills, and share ideas. This year's Fellows are:

The Swansea University Fulton Fellowship was awarded to Professor Zulkifli Ahmad from Universiti Sains Malaysia to undertake collaborative research into the fabrication of stretchable electronic devices at Swansea University.

Dr Shamim Akhter from Pir Mehr Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University, Pakistan, gained the George Weston Limited Fellowship. She will visit the Royal Veterinary College, University of London, UK, to research the development of advanced in vitro fertilization assays for the prediction of bull fertility.

Dr Heather Aldersey from Queen's University, Canada, was awarded the Gordon and Jean Southam Fellowship to travel to the University of Cape Town, South Africa. Her research will explore family support and family quality of life in intellectual disability.

Dr Helen Yue Lai Chan from The Chinese University of Hong Kong received the Hong Kong Jockey Club Fellowship (Outward) to travel to Queen's University Belfast, UK, for a period of collaborative research into palliative care.

The Jacky McAleer Memorial Fellowship was awarded to Paul Denny from the University of Auckland, New Zealand. He will travel to both the University of Toronto and McMaster University in Canada to research computer-assisted learning.

Professor Opha Pauline Dube from the University of Botswana gained this year's University of Oxford Fellowship, which will see her complete for a research visit focusing on environmental change and management.

Dr Suranga Kodithuwakku from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka, was awarded the Hong Kong Jockey Club Fellowship (Inward) to travel to the University of Hong Kong. The collaborative research will explore the effects of endocrine disruptive chemicals on reproductive functions.

David Obada from Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria, was awarded the Wighton Fellowship in Engineering for a research visit to the University of Birmingham, UK. The visit will focus on the testing of low-cost internal combustion engine catalysts.

The Worshipful Company of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales Fellowship was awarded to Dr Nacanieli Rika from the University of the South Pacific. He will travel to the University of New South Wales, Australia, to carry out collaborative work into public sector auditing and Indigenous accounting.

Dr Godiraono Tatolo from the University of Botswana has been awarded the University of Manitoba Fellowship to support a research visit focusing on Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopy.

This year's Martha Farrell Memorial Fellowship has been awarded to Professor Carmen Wickramagamage from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka. She will receive training and support from the Martha Farrell Foundation in India to introduce an effective anti-sexual harassment initiative at her home institution.

ACU Titular Fellowships are offered on an annual basis to staff at ACU member institutions. The fellowships support Commonwealth universities to develop their staff and resources through the interchange of people, knowledge, skills, and technologies. To find out more, visit