New ACU Council members elected

New ACU Council members elected

Published on 03 August 2015

Following the recent call for nominations, executive heads from universities across the Commonwealth have been appointed to the ACU Council for the period 2015-2017.

As the overall governing body of the ACU, the Council is collectively responsible for overseeing the ACU's activities and determining its future direction.

ACU Council 2015-2017

  • Professor Edward Oben Ako – University of Maroua, Cameroon
  • Professor (Ms.) Vasanthy Arasaratnam – University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka
  • Professor David Atkinson* – MacEwan University, Canada
  • Professor Arun Diwaker Nath Bajpai - Himachal Pradesh University, India
  • Professor Rahamon A. Bello – University of Lagos, Nigeria
  • Professor Amit Chakma* – Western University, Canada
  • Professor Rajesh Chandra* – University of the South Pacific
  • Professor Cheryl de la Rey+ – University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Professor Romeela Mohee – University of Mauritius
  • Professor Dr. Md. Mahbubar Rahman - Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University, Bangladesh
  • Professor Idris Rai+ – State University of Zanzibar, Tanzania
  • Professor Christina Slade – Bath Spa University, UK
  • Professor Jan Thomas+ - University of Southern Queensland, Australia

*Continuing member in first term of office
+Re-elected to serve a second term of office

Professor John Wood, Secretary General of the ACU, spoke of his delight at having such an experienced and diverse set of university executive heads serving over the next two years, and he looks forward to formally welcoming them when Council next meet in London in December 2015.

Officers of Council and its Committees will also be elected by the Council at this meeting.

Find out more about the ACU Council, its role and purpose here

Note: The photo of Council was taken at its last meeting in 2014, which was held in South Africa, and therefore doesn't show all current members.