Nii Ayikwei Parkes in conversation with Awo Ablo

Ghanaian author, Nii Ayikwei Parkes, will be in conversation with Awo Ablo about how art influences public perceptions of migration.

2[2]
Date
03 Aug 2020
Time
13:00-14:00 (BST)
UCC & ACY 3

This event is co-organised by the ACU and the University of Cape Coast, Ghana, as part of the ACU Summer School 2020: The Migration Generation? Climate, youth and refugees.

How can the arts influence narratives and public perceptions of migration? How can young migrants be supported and encouraged to create their own narratives and share their own stories? Leading Ghanaian author, Nii Ayikwei Parkes, will be discussing these topics as well as sharing insights from his career as a writer, educator and public speaker. He will be interviewed by Awo Ablo, the Executive Director of External Relations at the Tony Blair Institute for Global Change.

Speaker and Chair

Parkes Nii Ayikwei By Elikem Akpalu

Nii Ayikwei Parkes

A 2007 recipient of Ghana’s ACRAG (The Arts' Critics and Reviewers Association of Ghana) Award, Nii Ayikwei Parkes is a writer, editor and socio-cultural commentator. He is the author of the hybrid novel 'Tail of the Blue Bird' which is translated into Dutch, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Catalan and Japanese. Nii Ayikwei's book of poetry, 'The Makings of You' (Peepal Tree), includes the poem 'Barter' which was used in the 2013 'Poems on the Underground London' series. Following roles at the University of Southampton, California State University and the University of Aberystwyth, he was a founding director of the Aidoo Centre for Creative Writing in Accra, before taking his current role as Producer of Literature and Talks at Brighton Festival. Nii Ayikwei writes for children under the name K. P. Kojo and was selected as one of Africa's 39 most promising authors of the new generation for the World Book Capital Africa 39 Project in 2014. He splits his time between his home in Ghana and spells in Europe, where he produces literature events and teaches.

Ablo Awo (002)

Awo Ablo

Awo Ablo is the Executive Director of External Relations at the Tony Blair Institute for Global Change. Awo is also Vice Chair of the Board for BBC Media Action; a Trustee of the Institute for Development Studies (IDS), University of Sussex; and a company director at TBI. She has over 20 years’ experience across the not-for-profit, media and private sectors. Previous senior positions have included: Director, External Relations at the International HIV/AIDS Alliance, a UN collaborating partner, and Director of Business Development at the BBC World Service Trust. Awo held previous roles at the Royal Society for the Arts (RSA), Saferworld, the Royal Geographic Society, and the publishers, John Wiley & Sons. Awo has been on advisory groups and committees, such as the Chatham House Global Health Working Group, and chaired debates at industry, development and media events. She has an MA from SOAS, London University’s School of Oriental and African Studies, and a BA in Philosophy and Theology from the University of Kent. She holds dual Ghanaian and UK citizenship.

Time zones

  • Toronto, Canada 08.00-09.00
  • Accra, Ghana 12.00-13.00
  • London, UK 13.00-14.00
  • Johannesburg, South Africa 14.00-15.00
  • Mumbai, India 17.30-18.30
  • Sydney, Australia 22.00-23.00

Who can attend?

This event is open to students from ACU member universities and CSC, Chevening, Marshall and QECS scholars.

Registration

Registration closed Wednesday, 29 July. 

View all ACU events