New destinations for international students

Press release – 11 March 2011

Postgraduate students in Commonwealth countries can apply to study in a range of new destinations from 2011, thanks to a range of international scholarships launched this week.

The first set of scholarships, set to start between September 2011 and February 2012, are for Master’s degree study in Kenya, Mauritius, Tanzania, and the South Pacific. A three-month Commonwealth Fellowship for an established academic at the University of Ibadan in Nigeria is also available. In addition, two Commonwealth Scholarships for PhD and postdoctoral study are also currently available at the University of Pretoria, in South Africa.

These scholarships have been made available by the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan endowment fund. The fund, established to mark the 50th anniversary of Commonwealth Scholarships in 2009, has now raised over £2 million, through contributions from alumni and Commonwealth governments.

According to Fund Secretary Dr John Kirkland, the stated aim of the fund is to broaden the range of destinations in which Commonwealth Scholarships can be held: ‘In the 1960s, there was a sizeable number of international students undertaking postgraduate research at universities in developing countries – particularly in Africa. Now, after a period of decline in the 1980s and 1990s, many of these universities are actively looking to recruit international students again.’

All of the above opportunities are open to citizens of all Commonwealth countries (except the host country). Further details are available at

Notes to editors:

1. The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is an international programme under which member governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries. The Plan was established at the first Commonwealth education conference in 1959 and is reviewed by Ministers at their triennial meetings. Almost 27,000 individuals have held awards, with some 17,000 of these being hosted in the UK. For further information, visit

2. The CSFP endowment fund is an initiative of the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) and the Commonwealth Secretariat. It was launched by Commonwealth education ministers in 2009, under the patronage of HRH The Prince of Wales. Contributions have been received from seven member governments, and around 200 alumni and other supporters.

3. For further information, please contact:

Natasha Lokhun
+44 (0)20 7380 6760

Future Forward